Chapters

Recipe Two: The Possibility of Eggs

Hello. Katrina here. I’m going to start talking to myself because I don’t have anyone else to talk to try and figure this out. I’m quite stupid so I’m not too sure what I will be able to figure out. I will try my best to walk and talk.

I’ve been looking at the bushes and trees here and I have definitely concluded one thing …. I have transported into another world. It is strange but I feel as though all the “I REINCARNATED OR TRANSPORTED INTO ANOTHER WORLD” web novels have prepared me for this situation. Maybe that’s why genre is so popular – to warn people like myself of all the dangers that could happen when we are transported into another world.

Ok. Let’s make a mental list of things I must ascertain in this world.

  1. Can I fulfill my basic human needs (apart from food) here?
  2. Communication. Will we be able to understand one another? If we cannot, do we have a similar enough charade language?
  3. Morals and values. Do the people hold similar values to me? Will they kill me immediately? Will they try to torture me and rape me?

Ok. Let’s not think about that for now. I don’t really care too much about appearances and the presence of magic unless it directly harms me in some way.

The sky is getting darker. Not good. I have to keep walking. Hopefully I can reach shelter, I don’t have anything that would enable me to build a shelter. Fire would be important. I’m not too sure how you can start a fire.

I squinted. In the distance there was a light. It might be a camp fire. Lets walk towards it! Horse. Man in armour. Man in armour sitting on a rug around in front of a campfire. Not the best situation but they could be a town guard or similar!

I walked towards the fire. “Hello, I’m Katrina,” I said. He started and swiftly sprang at me, drawing his sword at me. I put my hands up in the air, dropping both shopping bags.

“I MEAN NO HARM!” I screeched. That’s a sharp sword. A very sharp sword, that is currently just a few centimetres from my nose. I breathed heavily and quickly, with my arms straining to remain as still as possible.

He slowly lowered down his sword and sheathed it. I thought he was in armour but he wasn’t. Over the light of the fire, early middle aged man, heavily built, blond with a nose that was starting to become a bit beakish. He  was wearing a cream tunic covered with a chainmail vest. He wore tan that had a sharp crease in the middle of the leg. I stared at the crease. It was a very sharp crease.

“Miss, are you from Earth?” he asked. I nodded up and down furiously. He beamed at me and walked towards me.

“You can put your hands down now, Miss,” he said, slightly concerned. My arms shot straight down. He grabbed my right hand and shook it furiously.

“I am very glad to see you,” he said, cheerfully, letting go of my hand. “Come on, you’re welcome to take a seat at my campfire,” he said, moving back towards the rug and sitting down. I picked up my shopping bags and followed him. I sat down and placed the shopping bags by my side.

“Miss, if you’re from Earth, what was the date when you left?” he asked, staring at me.  

“Oh, it was March 24, 2016,” I said slowly, trying to calm myself down. His eyes widened.

“The future? Then can you tell me, has England won the war?” he asked eagerly.


“Yes. Britain and the allies defeated Germany, Italy and Japan in 1945,” I said. He give a small smile.

“It has been so long, I have forgotten almost everything but my duty,” he said softly. He saw my look of puzzlement. “Forgive me. I haven’t introduced myself. My name is Edward Smith, Lieutenant. On  March Twenty Fourth 1942, at nineteen hundred hours, I found myself chasing an enemy through the forest. I was chasing him and then I stumbled into this other world.”

“ I was found by some peasants. I had fallen into a medieval style world, with Kings and Queens I never learnt about.  Initially, I could not wait to go back home but I could find no means to do so. In the meantime, I performed several services to my lord, helped win military campaigns, saved the life of the King of this realm and eventually I found myself a knight, despite initially arriving in this world as a peasant, ” he explained.

That’s quite a lot of mean time. I want to find out more but there is a time and a place I suppose. 

“Ahh, well I’m Katrina. I’m not really doing anything right now I guess. I was buying food for my family when I dropped into this other world,” I replied. My stomach rumbled. Oh. It had been a long time since I’ve eaten.

“Ah yes, are you hungry Katrina? I have a few rations with me.” he asked. He rummaged through a pack, beside him on the rug and brought out a green vegetable that looked like a leek. “This is leac. It’s a bit tough but it can keep you going for days. You can eat it raw or roasted.”

“Thank you. If you don’t mind, I can share some of my supplies with you! I have eggs and chicken! I can also cook somewhat,” I said cheerfully.

“Eggs!” exclaimed Edward. He leaned towards me with glittering, hopeful eyes. “Do you truly have eggs on you!?”

_________________________________________________________________

Author’s Note: It has been so long since I’ve written anything longer than 200 words, my prose has become exceedingly rusty. Recipes will start up in the next chapter. I was planning on having them start in the first chapter but I don’t feel comfortable writing chapter stories longer than 500 words.

Leave a comment