Chapters · Uncategorized

Recipe 6 – Roast Potatoes

I’m not very good with long awkward silences but I am good at keeping them up.

“Would you happen to have any food on you?” asked Roze, “We haven’t had much to eat lately that wasn’t waterroot. We’ve been in the desert for two days, waiting for a relief squad.”

“I’ve got some potatoes we can bury in the coals,” I said. Spies? That doesn’t sound good but Roze will tell me about herself when she’s ready. Roze nodded and held out her hand. I rummaged through my shopping bag and took out four medium size potatoes.

Roze took them from me and held them all in one hand. She waved her wrist, causing the air to simmer. She plunged her hand straight into the coals. She took out her hand again and it was completely unharmed.

“Airless space,” she said quietly, “Now pass me your eco bag.” How does… well I handed her my shopping bags. Roze took out a small gold pouch and ran her fingers along the rim. She then placed my shopping bags into the tiny gold coloured pouch. She handed me back the pouch.

“This is in thanks for the water. You saved our lives,” she said, “A frozen, timeless portable storage space seemed like an appropriate gift.”

“Thank you,” I said as I put the pouch into my front left jean pocket. “I’m not sure what to say. Is there anything else I can do in return?”

“Not especially. Maybe you could listen. My name back on earth was Tracy. Tracy Lin,” said Roze quietly, “I was body swapped out of my body in 2014. I was just working in retail, when I found myself in the body of a three year old. It was hard being stuck in the body of a three year old. But I adjusted. Slowly. I still had my mind but it was shattering, “

“This world is nothing like Earth. When I was seven, they found out that I could manipulate space time despite not being part of the aristocracy. So my step father killed my mother and sold me for a considerable sum. Things… things happened. Then my freedom was brought by Ancel.”

“I was free. I researched. Heavily. I started to think that Earth  was just a dream. There is magic in this world but I haven’t been able to find a single book about other worlds. Nothing that deals with interdimensional spacial rifts. Not even in fairy tales. I’m considered one of the few non-royal magical prodigies but even I can’t find a way back home.”

“ I’ve decided to devote my life to Ancel. I can’t go back home. There’s no point in knowing more about Earth.”

“But why don’t you tell me about yourself? Are you a body swapper or have you been transported to another world?”

I stared into the fire. I’m not really sure how I should respond. What can I say? Anything I say might be horribly wrong. I guess I should answer her next question.

“Ummm, well I’ve been transported to this world. I’m more of a world skipper at most. In fact, I think I’m about to fall into another universe. ”

Author’s note: Well, I’m too lazy to write recipes and cook food but I do want to keep up this writing practice.

Leave a comment